What We’re Reading

Assalamu’alaikum & Marhaba!I will be posting my literature picks of the week, an Arabic pick and an English one.  Here are my picks for this week!

img_3251

Ana Al Baqarah
(I Am the Cow) by Bodour Al Qasimi, Illustrated by Muriel Abichaker

This is part of a series of animal “puppet” board books sold in a set of six.  We bought these on our last visit to the UAE, and I am so grateful for them.  Both kids love these books and read them daily.  It is an easy set to travel with.  The books have the same format for each animal.  It introduces the animal, where it lives, what it eats, the sound it makes, and what their children are called.  My husband and I have learned a lot from them, too!

img_3247

This set is published by Kalimat.  Most of my books come from here, because they come out with high quality Arabic books which can be difficult to find.  Their catalog linked here includes everything you need to know about this series.  They have a list of retailers outside of the UAE, so be sure to check that out to find a retailer near you.

When we lived in Sharjah, our apartment was right across their first Arabic bookstore for children in the UAE.  It is a beautiful and inviting cafe and bookstore called Maktaba located on Al Qasba.  (Please note:  I am in no way affiliated with them.  All my books were personal purchases.  I just really love their books!)

Guess How Much I Love You
By Sam McBratney, Illustrated by Anita Jeram

img_3244

Layaan’s recent chats with me are all about how much she loves all of us.  It is the perfect time to read this book with her.  It is about a little hare and his father going back and forth about how much they love each other.  It ends with one of my favorite lines, “I love you to the moon and back!”  Layaan has found so many more ways to express her love through this book that are fun and clever. Muhammad enjoys watching us copy the little hare and big hare as we read along.  It is requested daily by Layaan and Muhammad.  A sweet and enjoyable addition to our library!

You can purchase it here or find it in any of your local bookstores.

Comment below if you and your families have read these or if you have other suggestions!

