Our Week in Pictures

Assalamu’alaikum & Marhaba!

It seems our weeks are flying by with school, group activities, and our busy schedule at home.  I am trying my best to get on top of my posts, please bear with me!  Here are some highlights from last week.

Monday

IMG_4013.JPG

Layaan started swimming lessons with Let’s Asia Bangkok.  This was her second lesson and unlike the first lesson she was actually looking forward to this one, Alhamdulillah (praise be to God).

She had a huge grin throughout the class.  It helps that her instructor does a great job at being silly, fun, and helping the kids feel secure in the water.  Admittedly, I was pretty surprised myself.  I can see her confidence and comfort building.  On top of that, I was pleased to see how well she follows directions.  So far, it’s been a great experience, Alhamdulillah.

Tuesday





I tried out a new playgroup with Muhammad on Tuesday after we dropped Layaan off at school.  It was a messy and water playgroup at the Little Pea located in The Commons, Bangkok.  Muhammad stopped at all the stations they had set up; cooking with colored sticky pasta, bin with water beads, ice water, colored water, water funnels and pipes, and painting.  It is an unstructured playgroup, something that I need to get used to.  Overall, I really liked the craft they made, a dragon for the Chinese New Year, and that they wrapped up with story time.


After school, Layaan had her Arabic lesson with her new Syrian tutor.  There’s an added benefit that she speaks in a similar dialect to Lebanese spoken Arabic, which is what Layaan is familiar with, but she teaches her the fusha’ pronunciation or words through gentle reminders.  Layaan loves her already.  I have gone through many Arabic tutors for myself, so seeing her passion to teach and love for kids is truly a blessing, Alhamdulillah.  I was a bit hesitant about whether or not it was age and developmentally appropriate, but we actually realized an hour is not even enough!  Once Layaan finishes school, we will bump up her time with Ustadha (Ms.) Suzan, Insha’Allah (God Willing).

Wednesday


I took a bit of a break from my phone on Wednesday, and don’t have much to show in terms of pictures.  I try my best to cut down on my phone usage here and there.  Layaan had school as usual, and Muhammad and I spent our morning meeting a physical therapist for my diastasic recti after Muhammad’s birth.  Afterwards, we spent plenty of time playing, talking, and doing our mini Montessori lessons to build vocabulary and work on his fine and gross motor skills.

Thursday



Our Thursday was a pretty easy going one.  Muhammad and I dropped Layaan off at school as usual, except that I went carrier-free for the first time!  I was beginning to notice he wanted to be on the ground with Layaan most of the time.  Because of that and the benefits of exploring our surroundings, I am giving him more opportunities to walk, observe, and touch during our daily routines.  It is a little challenging for the New Yorker in me as I like to move at a quick pace, but I am trying to add more time to our schedule so he can stop to collect every leaf and flower that crosses his path!  His new words for the week were leaf and flower.  Yey (Masha’Allah).

Friday


I have not been getting much sleep with all the news surrounding US politics, unfortunately.  So Friday I was pretty tired mentally and physically.  Ideally, I would have liked to have a more productive day, but we made the most of it.  Instead of taking the kids to the park which I had originally planned, I just took them out to the hotel’s garden area.  They ran around playing with one another, chasing the birds, collecting flowers and leaves, observing the ants, and blowing bubbles.  I rested in the shade and was able to squeeze in some time to recite Surah al Kahf, a chapter of the Qur’an Muslims recite every Friday.


Later on during the day, we continued our winter theme by making snowmen.  I will post more with directions soon, Insha’Allah.

Saturday and Sunday

Baba gave me a break on Saturday by taking the kids to the zoo during the day and we spent a relaxing quiet evening at home.  Sunday


On Sunday, Layaan and I reviewed the letters I introduced her to last week.  We made pasta letter crafts.  I just wrote the letters out nice and big on plain white paper.  Together, we traced over the letters with glue, and Layaan stuck on the pasta pieces.  It was excellent pre-writing practice.  Afterwards, we played a game where I asked her to place her hand on each letter that began with the word I would say.


She asked me if we could play another game, that is what she calls our lessons, games.  I took out these Arabic number flashcards I downloaded and printed from HomePlaySchool and we counted and lined up wooden skewers for each number.  It was perfect to give her a visual representation of quantity.

Comment below!

